

State of New Jersey Department of Human Services

The New Jersey Department of Human Services invites you to apply for the following position:

JOB POSTING	NUMBER	607-21				
TITLE		Home Instructor, Commission for the Blind and Visually Impaired	ISSUE DATE	7/19/21	CLOSING DATE	8/02/21
		NJ Commission for the Blind and				
		Visually Impaired	SALARY	\$48,767.10- \$68,775.00		
		153 Halsey St. 5 th fl. Newark, NJ 07101	OPEN TO	Public		
DEFINITION	Under close supervision of a supervisory official in the Commission for the Blind and Visually Impaired, Department of Human Services, does the field instruction, provides advice, and makes appropriate referrals to help newly blinded persons adjust to the loss of vision; does other related duties.					
EDUCATION	Graduation from an accredited college or university with a Bachelor's Degree.					
Experience	One (1) year of experience in providing instruction or other social services to the blind.					
Note	Applicants who do not possess the required education may substitute additional experience as indicated on a year – for – year basis with thirty (30) semester hour credits being equal to one (1) year of experience. SPECIAL NOTE: Appointees will be required to successfully pass a Braille assessment test, administered by the Commission for the Blind and Visually Impaired. SPECIAL SKILL: Appointees must be able to read and teach Braille.					
NOTE FOR FOREIGN DEGREES	Degrees and/or transcripts issued by a college or university outside of the United States must be evaluated by a reputable evaluation service at your expense. The evaluation must be included with your submission. Failure to submit the required evaluation may result in an ineligibility determination.					
LICENSE	Appointees will be required to possess a driver's license valid in New Jersey only if the operation of a vehicle, rather than employee mobility, is necessary to perform the essential duties of the position.					
IMPORTANT NOTICE						
RESIDENCY	Effective 9/1/11, NJ PL 70 (NJ First Act), requires all State employees to reside in New Jersey, unless exempted under the law, or current employees who live out-of-state and do not have a break-in service of more than 7 calendar days, as they are "grandfathered." New employees or current employees who were not grandfathered and who live out-of-state have one year after the date of employment to relocate their residence to New Jersey or request an exemption. Current employees who reside in NJ must retain NJ residency, unless he/she obtains an exemption. Employees who fail to meet the residency requirements or obtain an exemption will be removed from employment.					
Note	Applicabl	Applicable special re-employment list established as a result of a layoff will be used before any promotions are made.				
Drug Screening	If you are a candidate for a position that involves direct client care in one of the Department of Human Services' hospitals or developmental centers, you may be subject to pre and/or post-employment drug testing/ screening. The cost of any pre-employment testing will be at your expense. Candidates with a positive drug test result or those who refuse to be tested and/or cooperate with the testing requirement will not be hired. You will be advised if the position for which you're being considered requires drug testing and how to proceed with the testing.					
Filing Instructions						
Forward a cover letter and resume electronically to: <u>Cbvi.Postings@dhs.ni.gov</u> You must include the Job Posting # in the subject line of your email.						
r ou must inc	iude the J	op Posting # in the subject line of your email.				

New Jersey Department of Human Services is an Equal Opportunity Employer